The Majority Report with Sam Seder

Journalist Emily Guendelsberger, author of 'On the Clock: What Low-Wage Work Did to Me and How It Drives America Insane,' joins us.

On today's show: Stuart Varney says Democrats raising the minimum wage to $15/hour is "basically" vote buying. Ainsley Earhardt once again brings up her friend's mayo restaurant.

Journalist Emily Guendelsberger joins us to discuss her new book, 'On the Clock: What Low-Wage Work Did to Me and How It Drives America Insane.'  In the tradition of Barbara Ehrenreich's 'Nickel and Dimed,' Guendelsberger worked low-wage jobs at Amazon, McDonalds, and a call center, each of which represents a growing sector of the economy. Incorporating personal experience, interviews with workers, statistics, and psychology, she paints a disturbing picture of the threat to human health and happiness posed by corporate giants incentivized to treats their workers like robots.

On the fun half: Hannity and Bongino collaborate to end school shootings with retired cop patrol. Ben Shapiro says we'll have dumb political fights over gun control instead of reform. Brian Kilmeade defends 'invasion' term allegedly used by El Paso suspect. Beto tells press he can't call out Trump by himself, press needs to call out racism. Eddie Glaude Jr. explains American exceptionalism and why we're always shocked by our innate racism and dark past.

Become a member at JoinTheMajorityReport.com

Check out today's sponsors:  Joybird: With Joybird you get one-of-a-kind furniture crafted to your unique taste. Receive an exclusive offer for 25% off your first order by using the code MAJORITY at joybird.com/MAJORITY! ProactiveMD fights acne: it contains Adapalene (A-da-pa-leen), which is a dermatologist recommended topical retinoid used in the treatment of mild to moderate acne. Get FREE SHIPPING with a 60-Day Money Back Guarantee! www.ProactiveMD/majority. And Calm: the #1 app to help you meditate, sleep and relax. Practices like meditation and prioritizing sleep can leave you feeling more rested, so you have the energy to go out and achieve your goals. If you head to CALM.COM/MAJORITY, you’ll get 25% off a Calm Premium subscription – which includes hundreds of hours of programs.

Get your tickets to the Michael Brooks Chicago Live Show, with special guest Chuck Mertz of This is Hell on August 24th here!

Check out The Michael Brooks Show at patreon.com/tmbs, and the TMBS YouTube channel for all short TMBS clips. And check out Year Of Lead, a new book on Brazil with an introduction by Michael Brooks!

Check out Matt’s podcast, Literary Hangover, at patreon.com/LiteraryHangover or on iTunes

Check out Jamie’s podcast, The Antifada, at patreon.com/TheAntifada, on iTunes, or via your favorite podcast app.

Follow the Majority Report crew on Twitter:

@majorityfm

@SamSeder

@_michaelbrooks

@MattLech

@jamie_elizabeth

@BF1nn

Direct download: 8-6-19-Emily_Guendelsberger-pub.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 3:09pm EST